Objects old, vintage, hand made or upcyled, and old techniques with a modern twist

VINTAGE-EMBROIDERED-FLOWERS

I recently went through the various vintage and antique hand-embroidered fabrics that I have, in the hunt for some material to make bunting for a friend’s wedding. Due to the hours of work that these pieces represent, I am loathe to cut them up, with the exception of any items that are damaged or spoilt by a permanent stain (I remove and bin the damaged area, and use the rest of the material in craft projects).

VINTAGE-TABLECLOTH

Depending on the size of the material, the embroidered fabrics can be used in a variety of projects: I really enjoy giving new life to something that someone else has put so much time and effort into, but is now ‘ruined’ for it’s original purpose (e.g. a tablecloth with a stain in the centre).

VINTAGE-EMBROIDERED-TABLECLOTH

Using some fabrics that I already have (in this case by upcycling) also means that I am still managing to stick to my new year’s resolution to buy no new craft materials this year!  BLUE-EMBROIDERY

The few pieces that I have shown here are all undamaged items, and as I seem to have collected quite a few pieces in good condition, I have decided to sell a selection- after all, there are only so many tablecloths etc that one person can use!

EMBROIDERED-FLOWERS BUTTERFLY-EMBROIDERY

Comments on: "Vintage Embroidery and Upcycling" (1)

What do you think?

