Objects old, vintage, hand made or upcyled, and old techniques with a modern twist

New Year, New Goal

faded-wild-flowers

I can’t believe that 2016 is already underway! After a busy Christmas I have started to think a bit about New Year’s Resolutions, and future plans of the creative type.

First of all I plan to repeat a resolution I followed in 2014:

Not to buy any craft materials/supplies during 2016!

Unlike 2014 I will not allow myself to buy or acquire any second-hand materials either (I find a lot of my craft supplies at car boot sales), in an attempt to make a serious dent on my craft stash over the course of the year. In order to make this resolution slightly easier to keep, I will still be allowed to buy glue if required.

faded-flowers

I hope that this resolution will help me to be more creative with the materials that I have, and encourage me to complete projects that I have been planning for a while. I expect to engage in a fair bit of upcycling and Make do and Mend as well. I am looking forward to a creative 2016, and a smaller craft stash by the end of the year!

faded-tiny-flowers

Comments on: "New Year, New Goal" (6)

  1. Oh good luck! I could not do that! As much as I try to use my stash – I always end up adding to my collection of supplies! I look forward to seeing how you go! 🙂

    Like

    • I plan on trying really hard not to get tempted! I’m hoping that if I make sure I always have a project in progress, then I won’t get distracted too easily by lovely new craft supplies- I also have my fingers crossed!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. […] a mixture of vintage and ‘new’ (not bought this year- I am still still sticking to my New Year’s Resolution!) printed cottons from my fabric drawer (ok, I’ll be honest with you: I actually have three […]

    Like

  3. […] advantage of only having my current craft stash to use this year (see my crafty New Year’s Resolution for 2016) is that I have started taking a good look at what I already have, rather than being […]

    Like

  4. Such a great idea! I really need to condense my stuff, I’ll give it a try 🙂

    Like

  5. […] that I already have (in this case by upcycling) also means that I am still managing to stick to my new year’s resolution to buy no new craft materials this year! […]

    Like

What do you think?

