Objects old, vintage, hand made or upcyled, and old techniques with a modern twist

Weaving

HAND-WOVEN-SCARVES

I stumbled across a second-hand loom at a jumble sale recently, so have been experimenting with weaving. The loom is a small table-top one, so I have started by weaving a couple of scarves.

SMALL-LOOM

The loom was really easy to get to grips with, and I enjoyed the weaving process. It was definitely quicker to weave a scarf than to knit one, although I think I still find knitting a more engaging process. The woven scarves felt finer and more ‘fluid’ than a knitted scarf, with a nice, smooth finish.

BLUE-WOVEN-SCARF

The blue and white scarf is a slightly looser weave than the green and purple one, and is woven using cotton and wool yarns. The green and purple scarf is woven from wool yarns.

WOVEN-SCARVES

The ease with which you can change colours (and neatly too) means that this is a great way of using up leftover lengths of yarn. I am now thinking of other potential weaving projects..!

Comments on: "Weaving" (8)

  1. Ooohhh! Jelly! I used to have a kid’s version of that when I was a kid. I miss weaving. Your scarves look lovely. I can’t wait to see more! ^_^ ♡

    Like

  2. Oooooohhh! Jelly!
    I used to have a kid’s version of that when I was a kid. I miss it. Your scarves look so lovely. I’m looking forward to seeing more. ^_^ ♡

    Like

  3. […] have previously woven scarves, but am very taken by this cowl so intend to make another one soon- and to take the opportunity to […]

    Like

  4. […] have been playing around with the small loom I have previously used to make scarves and cowls, experimenting with different textures and […]

    Like

What do you think?

