Objects old, vintage, hand made or upcyled, and old techniques with a modern twist

Colour-block scarf 1

After lots of knitting (and other crafting of other kinds) before Christmas to make presents for friends and family, I am now working on a knitting project for myself- a colour-block scarf. I am using a seed/moss stitch for the bulk of the scarf: knitting on the ‘right’ side and then K1, P1 along each row on the ‘wrong’ side. I wanted the colours to speak for themselves, hence the choice of a relatively subtle stitch.

Colour-block scarf 2

As I’m using 3mm needles this isn’t the quickest of scarves to knit, but it’s nice to not have the deadline you get when knitting for presents! The yarn is lovely to work with (and definitely one of my favourites): ‘Sierra Andina’ by Adriafil. As the yarn is 100% extra fine Alpaca, it is very soft and warm for winter use- I’ve used it to make several pairs of cosy gloves, and a beautifully soft cardigan in the past. Hopefully it will be finished in time to use before the weather warms up!

Colour-block scarf 3

Comments on: "More Knitting: a Colour-Block Scarf" (4)

  1. I love the colors! They look so good together!

    Like

  2. Such lovely colour combo! Wish I was better with those needles:-) Happy knitting and enjoy the week!

    Like

What do you think?

