Objects old, vintage, hand made or upcyled, and old techniques with a modern twist

Sewing Delights

This is one of my favourite parts of the studio, and looking a it makes me want to sew! The wooden reels are mainly Silko cotton thread- I am (slowly!) trying to collect all of the colours, which have amazingly evocative names such as ‘Light Mole’, ‘Dark Gobelin’ and ‘Gay Kingfisher’. I recently came across a magazine advert for Silko cotton threads dating from the 1930s, and apparently they produced over 250 colours- it may take me some time to complete my collection! As well as enjoying admiring them, I do also use the thread, particularly when I have more than one reel of the same colour. The cotton thread is thicker than the commonly available cotton thread made today; this makes it ideal for sewing thicker fabrics, and for embroidery. So, useful as well as beautiful!

Comments on: "Sewing Delights" (5)

  1. […] reels in this picture are all vintage Sylko: I collect Sylko reels (as I previously talked about I  this post), usually picking them up in charity shops or at car boot sales, but unusually haven’t […]

    Like

  2. […] For some more of my posts on DIY craft storage see here, here and here. […]

    Like

  3. Helen Hooper said:

    I have just started collecting Sylko cotton thread and am looking for any history or shade charts. If there is nothing available I am going to start a spreadsheet and list every colour and label type I can find. I met a man at a stitching show who had worked for them and knew from the label the era they were from. I do so wish I had his contact details now so I could pick his brain. Anything you have found out would be nice to know. Best wishes Helen

    Like

    • I’ve found a couple of old Sylko magazine advertisements (I think they are from the 1940s and 50s), when I have the time I will put them in a blog post. I think that one of them states how many colours were available- I have found reels with colour numbers in the 400s so there are a lot to collect! I’ve got about 120 different colours so far, so only about 300 more to find…

      Like

What do you think?

