Objects old, vintage, hand made or upcyled, and old techniques with a modern twist

New Year’s Resolutions

I often have so many craft ideas in my head that it can be difficult to concentrate on one thing. To avoid some of the lovely craft distractions always available, I have decided that for 2014 my single New Year’s Craft Resolution is:

Not to buy any new craft materials throughout the whole of 2014!

There are only two exceptions to this rule, I can buy glue when necessary for a project, and I can buy second hand materials from car boot sales- but only if I have a specific project in mind, and am not already in the middle of a crafty make!

Due to the distribution of my craft stash I aim to particularly (but not solely) concentrate on yarn-based and fabric-based projects. Designing the window display for a local yarn emporium last year (it is too lovely to be called a shop!) has resulted in me receiving payment in yarn, and so far I haven’t been able to knit fast enough to keep up!

I plan to share my projects via this blog, and am looking forward to a challenging but inspiring year of makes- wish me luck!

 

Comments on: "New Year’s Resolutions" (3)

  1. […] I used two balls of a lovely self-patterning Opal Sock Yarn that I bought a couple of years ago- my New Year’s Resolution (to buy no new craft materials in 2014) has definitely helped me to thin my stash of craft […]

    Like

  2. […] family at Christmas this year, and finding inspiration in my stash of yarn. I’ve stuck to my New Year’s Resolution, and haven’t bought any new yarn in 2014! Hopefully I will make it to the end of the year […]

    Like

  3. […] First of all I plan to repeat a resolution I followed in 2014: […]

    Like

What do you think?

